Sedation Detox

Advanced Rapid Detox vs MRODS

Setting, physician, length of stay, aftercare, published price and public record, side by side.

Farmington Hills, MI and Chicago, IL are about 220 miles apart.

220 mi
Advanced Rapid Detox Farmington Hills, MI
Operating
MRODS Chicago, IL
Status unconfirmed
CategorySedation-assisted opioid detoxAnesthesia-assisted opioid detox, hospital-based
LocationFarmington Hills, MichiganChicago, Illinois
SettingPrivate licensed inpatient facility. The provider describes it as a 24-hour medical facility and says the sedation day takes place in its ICU. No hospital is named on the site. Earlier the program ran inside Pontiac General Hospital (2017 to 2019 press) and Conner Creek Hospital, Detroit (directory listing).Acute care hospital (Thorek Memorial Hospital, Chicago; Kindred Hospital Mansfield, Texas, per the provider). ICU not mentioned.
Who gives the sedationDr. Julia Aharonov, DO, described on the site as a board-certified anesthesiologist and addiction medicine physician.A board-certified anesthesiologist per directory descriptions. No physician is named on the fetched pages.
Sedation or anesthesiaIV sedation. The site says no general anesthesia, no intubation and no catheter. Detroit News (2019) described it as propofol-based.Anesthesia-assisted. Whether general anesthesia or sedation is not specified.
Length of stay4 days: intake, about 24 hours sedated, a rest day, discharge on day 4.Admitted the day before, procedure of about 4 to 6 hours, overnight monitoring, discharge the next morning.
After the procedureChoice of a 12-month oral naltrexone prescription or a Vivitrol injection (first dose at the facility, then local providers every 28 days). Optional IV ketamine for an extra fee.Continuing care program or referral to a treatment program. Naltrexone or Vivitrol is not mentioned on the fetched pages.
Published priceNot published on the site. Press reports: $8,000 to $10,000 average (WXYZ, 2019), about $10,000 (Detroit News, 2019). A rehab.com reviewer wrote that they paid $12,000.Not stated
Accreditations and licenses statedBBB A+ (self-reported), LegitScript (verified April 2020 per rehab.com), HIPAA Seal of Compliance (Compliancy Group), Michigan state license 5304731943 (rehab.com). No Joint Commission accreditation stated for the facility.Kindred Hospital Mansfield described as Joint Commission accredited. None stated for MRODS itself.
Founded and historyNot stated. The site says Dr. Aharonov has performed the procedure since 2007 and claims more than 6,000 patients treated.Founded 2002 per BBB and directory listings. Midwest Rapid Opiate Detoxification Specialists, LLC filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy in June 2014 (N.D. Ill., case closed August 2014).
Google rating (as shown by the cited directory)4.63 from 87 reviews (rehab.com, October 20, 2026)Not shown on the pages we checked
Public recordWXYZ-TV (June 2019) reported the program was offered inside Pontiac General Hospital, a building previously reported for maintenance problems and physician license actions, and quoted an ASAM physician calling sedative use a red flag. Detroit News (May 2019): an ASAM board member called the care inappropriate; the provider said no patient had died under her care but some needed acute care for pneumonia and other complications.Science-Based Medicine (2015) criticized the program's claims. A recovered.org listing for Thorek Memorial Hospital says the hospital does not treat opioid use disorders, which conflicts with the MRODS site.
StatusOperating. Site copyright 2026, phone listed, Psychology Today profile updated October 2026.Status unconfirmed. Status uncertain. Subpages on mrods.com still describe the program, but no phone is shown on them and the related Care Addiction Center site (2026) does not mention rapid detox.

From each program's website and the sources on its profile, checked October 20, 2026.